LADIES IN WAITING

Despite the weather I decided I needed to go out today.  Neither Hubby nor G wanted to go so I  took myself off to Bowness.  It's always good to go there this time of the year when there are very few people about.

I  set off from Grange with a little bit of blue sky (which didn't last  long) but heading to the Lakes of course it started  to shower, heavy at times.

Undeterred I pressed on.  I avoided going via Newby Bridge because I'd heard there was flooding that way so I went up th A590, A591 and A592.  No problems at all, just a few puddles in places.

I parked up the top of Lake Road and it started raining as soon as I left the car so I ducked into ChoccoBar (A hot chocolate cafe) and had a Belgian hhot chocolate of Apple & Cinnamon with strawberries and a sponge finger for dunking.  Delicious.  I don't often drink hot chocolate but today was the right day for it.  

Then I walkd down the hill and to the lake to take this photo.  Whilst there there was a really heavy shower, which caught me briefly but I ducked under cover and just waited until it died down.  The walked back up towards the car.  I called into St Martin's Church for a bit of very interesting and thought provoking Social History and a look around as I've always just walked past it before.  

I noticed the Peter Rabbit attraction now has a new shop in the site of what use to be the Edinburgh Woollen Mill.  I will visit there before the tourist season start as it's a long time since I went into that attraction and who doesn't love a bit of Beatrix Potter when you're in The Lake District!!

I then just came home for lunch.  

We are going out tonight as it is the wife of sone of Hubby's drinking buddies 70th birthday so we're all going to The Pheasat in Allithwaite for a meal, there will be 11 of us, so should be good.

That's all for now, do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.