ULLSWATER

Such a lovely day today, all by myself.  Hubby hand to go to the Surgery just for his yearly medical check up, so I decided to go out on my own.

I drove up the M6 and went to Pooley Bridge.  This place is rather special to me as 47 years ago this is where we had our honeymoon - courtesy of my father.  I never knew back then that I would be living in the area at all!!

I didn't get there until about10.45 and it was fairly quiet lovely.  So I went straight to Granny D's for a coffee, then went back to the car as I was parked at the little Eusemere car park and headed towards Waterside House.  Now somehow because the sun was in my eyes I missed the turning and ended up in a huge field.  I walked around the noth perimeter of the field but no way of getting back, so I retraced my steps.  Sure enough about half way down I saw the signpost that i missed.  It was because it felt like you were going into someone's drive!!

Anyway I had a gorgeous walk along that stretch of Ullswater shore.  They're doing a lot of work at the Waterhouse, a load of people working under cover.  I met a few people, just enough to make it interesting.

I then turned round and went back.  It's only about 2 miles round trip, plus the extra when I went wrong.  I went back to Granny D's for lunch, phoned hubby to let him know I was OK and find out how he got on (all was fine).

I then headed home, driving along the whole length of Ullswater.  I was very tempted to stop in various lay-bys for photographs, although many were full there were still some places but I've done that so often that I decided to leave it for anothe day.  Most definitely the best photographic opportunity there is near Watermillock along the roadide, but of course nowhere to park and anyway the sun was at the wrong angle and the photos wouldn't have been great.

I drove on up through Glenridding and Patterdale and headed up the Kirkstone Pass - all looking stunning and very quiet.  Then drove along the shores of Winderemere, getting stuck in Bownss as there is a 4-way traffic lights system right in the centre and justs headed home up the A590 and through Lindale and Grange.

I didn't get home until 3.00 pm - so it was a lovely full day.  Luckily I've been and looked at all your blips first.  I've only partially edited the photos I took today and this I think is theh best one.  If you look very carefully hou can see I was photobombed by a cormorant - hiding behind that post in the lake!!!  I've put a close up of it in extras.

Once I've edited all of them I will do a collagge or two and blip them in extras.

Thank you so much for dropping by, for your really lovely comments, stars and hearts - all so much appreciated.  

Do take care and stay safe and I will see you tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.