pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Just when I thought I was out...

The call came at 10.48 this morning, but I missed it.

I returned it at 11.05 and was told that they needed me back. The Dame had gone sick and wouldn’t be able to make the last three shows. Would I step in?

Needing time to think and with hands a-shaking and buttocks a-clenching, I hung up with a promise to call back with my decision in half an hour. 

I consulted LadyV, we had plans for the weekend: “you have to do it”. I consulted my parents: “you have to do it.” I phoned my boss: “you have to do it. Take the afternoon.” There was no clear advice for me. The guidance was ambiguous and muddled, if only someone would tell me exactly what to do….

Then I remembered the shows I had dropped out of in the past (admittedly, not mid-run) and knew that the die was cast and favours were owed. It was time to grow a pair (boobs) and take to the stage once more.

The afternoon is something of a blur as I was given a whistle stop tour of the scenes - one of my soon to be cast mates kindly giving up some time to run the scenes with me - and we checked the dresses and wigs for the fit. 

6.30pm arrived and I was in make up chair with Helen working her magic, I felt calm and then the adrenalin started to course as I prepared for the cold open at 7.30pm telling the audience that the performance would have to be cancelled as the dame was sick - at that point I stood up and volunteered my services.

There followed two and a half hours of the most chaotic (for me) performance that I have ever been involved with as I was slapped, prodded, pointed and pushed into the right place (INCLUDING A FULL SONG & DANCE NUMBER) as I clutched my script and threw in a few ad-libs for good measure. 

Without doubt THE most fun I have ever had on stage and I will NEVER forget the cheer from the crowd at the end (which included my parents and my children who had come to the show again to see me)!!

What. A. Night. 


Pictured backstage here with the awesomeness that is ayearinthelife.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.