Capital adventures

By marchmont

Taiping

With a morning in hand I visited the restored buildings that make up the Hale Street Gallery. It is a museum to old Ipoh and the reconstructions of life were worth the RM10 (less than £2). Then I bought, and ate, a famed Ipoh custard tart, very similar to the Portuguese variety. There was a slightly heart stopping moment when I thought I'd lost my keycard but luckily, on retracing my steps, I found it on the street. Normally, normally I put it in my purse. 

The next thing that happened, half way to the station, was that Malaysia's awful pavements finally too their toll on a wheel if my case, dragging became more the mo than pulling.

Today's train was much busier than yesterday and sometime was sitting in my seat but it was only a 47 min journey so another one was found, aisle and backwards.

The wheel issue meant I got a Grab from the station. Just as well it was a fair distance. 

The Novotel is the tallest building in central Taiping and unusually for here it has a ground floor, so I am on floor 14, Malaysian format. Given the hills seen from the train I was surprised to see how flat it was to the west, the mangroves and the coast lie there. The hotel is above the Mall. Much cake has been eaten in this trip and today was no exception, coffee and choc cake in Secret Recipe.

Spent the rest of the afternoon having a seat and doing some work in the Lake Gardens of Portillo fame. It was very peaceful and people chat, ask you where you are from, completely unthreatening. There are few Europeans here. 

Then I walked round, taking photos and getting hot. Taiping is the wettest place in Malaysia and sure enough it started to rain. I stopped off at Brew House for awful beer (flat Heineken and weird Kronenbourg) and good, but unnecessary French fries. 

Lay on the bed watching the sun set and listening to a thunderstorm and then I did those myself to go out for proper food (and beer). The Chinese restaurant was busy, the dishes recommended and the food good. I couldn't finish it and it was the same cost as the earlier beer and fries. 

Back in my room I spoke to J about issues at the Manor and her lens replacement op and did some more work. 

I can look out the window from the shower. Amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.