Oz Never Did Give Nothing to the Tin Man

It was Friday the 13th. We had one of the cars out for a spin, and my husband pulled over to turn the car around in a parking lot somewhere between Port Matilda and Tyrone. I saw this cool mailbox and I instantly hopped out to snag a half-dozen photos in an ultra-quick 30-second photo shoot. Clearly, this is the Tin Man, from the Wizard of Oz. Or at least, it seemed so to me!

I laughed when I stumbled across this posting: "If Oz were high school, the Scarecrow would be the nerd, the Lion would be the jock, and the Tin Woodman would be guy who wears black lipstick and listens to the Cure. The poor guy is convinced he doesn't have a heart, but the amount of time he spends emoting all over the group suggests otherwise."

So here is our Tin Man, who has a heart big enough for all of us. I am just dripping in soundtrack songs for this image, and so let's unpack the tunes:
America, with Tin Man;
Roxette, with Listen To Your Heart (bonus: a lovely cover by D.H.T.);
And for our goth Woodman, how about a little Cure, for good measure? And on a Friday, how about this one? The Cure, with Friday I'm in Love!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.