Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Telling the story

We had a rather disjointed night.  W is prone to shoulder pain in bed, so although he went to sleep ok, when he woke he couldn't get back to sleep, and eventually went up to the lounge.  So when I woke at 2.45, his side of the bed was empty.  

I went back to sleep again, but later woke having had quite vivid dreams, and with some mild indigestion due to eating pizza in the dream!  Shortly after, W came back to bed - I was still awake at that time.  And I slept fitfully, with more dreams, from then until about 7.15, when I decided "enough was enough" and came up for my coffee.  W slept till 9.00, but didn't feel great.

So all in all, and especially given that the wet and windy weather continues, we have neither of us left the apartment all day.

I've been in the sewing room.  I "mass produced" what are called "half square triangles" but which should surely be called half triangle squares - a total of 96 squares.  

I cut fat quarters into 5 inch squares - that could be done quite efficiently.  Then chain stitching two squares together on either side of the diagonal - I did 12 pairs of squares at a time.  Then cutting apart and ironing them open.  The final stage - trimming them to perfect squares with the seam on the exact diagonal, can only be done one square at a time.  Browsing for a pattern to use them, I discovered there is a fancy triangular ruler that would have speeded up this process.

The final photo is a part of the proposed pattern when I come to fasten them together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.