Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Brrrrr

All the birds had their down parkas on today against frigid temps and bluster winds.  And this photographer also had her own down parka on, along with ear warmers, gloves and a scarf!  And even then...not much time outside.  Sitting in front of the fire with one dog and two cats seems a much more enjoyable activity right now.

Although there is nothing particularly special about this shot, I like the eye contact as well as the elevated crest.  Oh, who am I kidding - I just like Tufted Titmice.  They are simply incapable of being anything other than cute.

The Sapsucker was at the suet feeder multiple times today - I suspect it is harder to tap his sap wells in these temps.  Anyway, I am pleased that he's still here since it has been quite a few years since we've had one overwinter in our woods.  And a small hawk came blazing through the yard a while ago - I couldn't tell if he grabbed something or not.  Nor could I tell if it was a Sharp-shinned or Cooper's hawk - it was just in and out way too fast.  They have to eat too, although I always hope they will grab one of the house sparrows rather than a woodpecker or titmouse.  

I am indulging in dark with raspberries today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.