Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Details...

Adding to my yardbirds record for 2023, a male House Finch.  This species is widespread across most of the US and frequently found at feeders.  Although they are not migratory, they do move around within small ranges to find food so some days you might have 10 or more at your feeders and another day, none.  The males have beautiful songs and on a nice winter day, it's not unusual to hear a male practicing his tunes.  Today wasn't such a day, being overcast and windy.  Worth having a look in Large to see the detail on his breast feathers which seem to have white trim!

I feel safe in saying that Hubs and I are definitely on the other side of Covid now, thank goodness.  I will still isolate through Sunday, but neither of us have any symptoms now.  While it wasn't serious, it was definitely something I'd like to avoid doing again any time soon.  Like many people, I am so very aware now of not spreading my "ick" to other people - whether covid, or "just" a cold.  Maybe that is the silver lining to the dark covid cloud, that we've become more aware of our fellow humans and how our actions may affect them.  It seems like second nature now to put a mask on if I'm feeling a little off...the Social Contract.  

Jax has been very mellow today - the after effects of a good time at day care yesterday.  He even slept right through my zoom yoga class today which was nice.  Not having to try to do a downward dog over the dog was nice for a change.  That being said, he did manage to get into the coat closet and remove one of my shoes...which he then proudly carried around the house while I tried to get it from him.

Heading into a long weekend here with Monday being a federal holiday in honor of Martin Luther King's birthday.  It's going to be chilly, but no precipitation so hopefully we can get Jax over to the park for a walk or two.  

Dark, plain and simple, today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.