Back in the box files

I spent the morning catching up with a friend, a long overdue meet-up. Then an afternoon at home, partly because the intermittent gut troubles I've been having for a while (no details, I promise) flared up again. I'm hoping for some insight when I finally get to see a GP later in the month.
Anyway, it wasn't a day for outdoor photography. So by way of therapeutic distraction, I dug out some old negatives. Partly, I wanted to go back over the procedure for digitising them and creating mono images in-camera.  This is a feature of my Nikon that I really like. I haven't done this for a while, and it was good to revisit the details.
I was also curious about this particular set, taken on holiday in France with 3 women friends, sometime in the mid-1970s.  The negatives are very battered, clearly I didn't store them well; this is particularly obvious on the extra.
The negatives did bring back two nice memories, still visible through the scratches. One, the  improbable achievement of fitting 4 adults, plus luggage and camping gear,  into a Renault 4. What a car! A trooper, so much more robust than its diminutive size suggests. . We drove through the south of England, got the ferry, and then drove all the way down to SW France.  Much exploration in the Pyrenees followed, testing the Renault 4 to its limits. On some very steep ascents, some of us got out and walked :-)
The other memory (extra) is the stop we made in the Auvergne, on the way South. Through friends-of-friends' contacts - perhaps a penpal, or a fellow student? - we stayed overnight at a small village, and visited a farming family and their small dairy. I was fascinated by the machinery and the cheese presses, and the careful teamwork on show.  Much later, when I read John Berger's books about rural life in similar areas, and saw Jean Mohr's wonderful images, those brief glimpses came back to me again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.