Jan 15

The chickadees were checking on the feeders early this morning so I filled them and spent the rest of the day watching the birds and the squirrels.
I discovered that I have 2 squirrels. One was sitting in the feeder this afternoon when the other one came up on the deck. When the one in the feeder spotted the other one, he came down, and the chase was on. I'm not sure where they ended up, it was the last time I saw either of them today.
When I filled the feeders this morning I could hear the blue jays. One squirrel laid claim to the feeder first, the blue jays were sitting in the tree waiting, so I tossed some peanuts onto the deck for them.
This afternoon the chickadees and gold finches descended on the feeders and some pine siskins joined them. I also had a white breasted nuthatch, a mourning dove and a pair of cardinals visit. Later this afternoon I noticed some song sparrows on the stone steps in the garden, they don't seem to like coming up to the feeders on the deck.
Peaches is sleeping this evening, she didn't get her nap this afternoon, she was too busy chattering at the birds.
We cancelled brunch today, with the freezing rain this morning the roads were slippery. The temperature is supposed to go up tonight into tomorrow morning, and the rain will continue. I hope the roads are alright tomorrow, I have to work in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.