FLAGS

Newcastle had a home match this afternoon against Fulham - 2pm kick off.  I went out to catch a bus around ten past 12.  Thought I had better get into town early in case there were any problems with the buses or traffic delays.

My next door neighbour Ed was already at the bus stop - off to the match too.  He usually gets a lift from his wife when he goes to the match but there's a deal on at the moment where you pay £2 bus fare for any journey on local buses.  That's a good saving on the usual fare - so Ed decided to take the bus. We sat together on the bus and chatted about football... what else.  When we got to town Ed was headed for a pub near the ground.  He did ask me if I wanted to tag along but I said No.  Don't think his drinking pals would have been too keen if I had turned up. I had a look round the shops - didn't buy anything.

St James Park was full of flags as usual. They ranged from small ones to huge ones.  The big flag in the top left of  my collage has manager Eddie Howe's face on it and the words " WE'RE NOT HERE TO BE POPULAR WE'RE HERE TO COMPETE ".

The match was a strange one.  Fulham played Ok and Newcastle didn't really get their own way throughout the match.  They had some chances but no goals in the first half. In the second half Fulham were awarded a penalty and their player Mitrovic got the ball in the net.  However the penalty was disallowed..... because as he took the shot his feet slipped and the ball touched both of his feet before going into the net.  Apparently if this happens then the goal is disallowed.  Of course I didn't know this rule so I wasn't sure why the penalty had not counted until I read the match reports afterwards.  Newcastle finally scored the only goal of the game on the 89th minute.  What a relief.  3 points in the bag and we are back to being 3rd in the table.

After the match I quickly pooped into Tesco and then got a bus home - it was on time.... but packed.  Full of footie fans all in good spirits.

TV this evening - Great British Pottery Throwdown and Dancing On Ice.  I have recorded Call The Midwife, Happy Valley and Vera.  I think tomorrow is going to be spent in front of the TV.

Stesp today - 9,798

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.