Windmill 'De Hoop', Culemborg

'Hoop' = 'hope' both in sound and meaning, but also means 'heap'.

So, so glad the weatherman had it wrong!  Well, not entirely wrong, but it was a lot sunnier than we expected.  It was, however, very, very cold.  I had a sweater and a vest beneath my coat.  Thankfully, no wind.

What's nice about this windmill?  It has two panoramic angles!  I did not know which one to use for the main shot, so I chose the one I normally would not prefer.  The extra shot shows the other perspective.  It is a beautiful specimen, built in 1854 and renovated in 1993.

The very late night led to the very late start in the morning.  Attended to work mail, but also to mail from the Viking.  We even spoke to each other again on the phone.  Things are not standing still, for sure.  It is, however, too unrealistic to think that all this will be over 'soon'.  I have to keep that in mind all the time because it helps me to focus on life in the here and now.

After the hunt, some post-processing, and then dinner, after which Beau picked up AW for Thursday evening live bridge and I resumed correcting essays, punctuated by kitchen duties and a bit of gaming to break the tedium.  And then, just a bit past 21.00, the promised email from Johnny -- they will hire one of the other four candidates.  Am I disappointed?  Well, no!  I'm still working well with Harry!  And this also means I'll still be free one or two days a week.  And now... back to the midnight oil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.