WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Snow!

But not enough!
I’m not a driver so I love the snow.
I was awake at 5.30 am and thought I may as well get up, unusual for me lately. I wrote a poem and half of another.
We drove to Skipton this morning.
I took my hiking boots to the cobblers as the whole back heel area was coming away. I’ve had them since 2010. They are from Vegetarian Shoes in Brighton and the comfiest boots I’ve ever had.
The man said I could either fling them or he can glue them for a fiver but they might not stay stuck. He said the problem was not the fact they are made from Vegetan and the Vibram soles are great quality but the middle bit between the boot and the sole always eventually crumbles. I asked if it made a difference how much you pay for the boots. He said you can pay up to £300 for a top make of boots but that middle bit is all the same material and will crumble.
I think I already know what my birthday wish will be!
Also did a bit of sundries shopping, this and that in small shops and lining fabric for the new curtains. The fabric arrived today! :-D
I‘ve cut them out and will sew them tomorrow - my least favourite job :-[]

Snowdrops

Spring is still hiding
beneath a blanket of snow
after all, it’s still winter
though the tiny shoots still grow.

Piercing through the frozen earth
the snowdrops will soon grace 
our verges and our gardens
and every woodland space

After months of darkness
soon joy and hope they’ll bring
these pure, little white bells
the harbingers of Spring!

Goodnight ;-)X


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.