Living my dream

By Mima

It's a Wrap

The Camemberts have matured sufficiently to have proper-looking white mould all over them now, so I have wrapped them in special cheese paper and they are now maturing in the fridge for a further three weeks. Then I'll test one of them, with crossed fingers.


I've spent the last 24 hours on and off mulling over Jacinda's resignation. These are my thoughts. 


It came with no warning at all. There wasn’t even a whisper of media speculation. Well done her, keeping it under wraps.
 
While I am desperately sad that she will no longer be leading the country, my respect and admiration for her has only increased with her announcement.
 
She recognised that she could no longer do the job to the exacting standards she set herself – and which we have come to expect of her – so she made the decision to walk away.
 
As somebody who held onto a job too long after realising I was making unacceptable compromises, I can only applaud her self-awareness and forethought. And her humility. It takes a mighty person indeed to publically draw a line in the sand beyond which you know you’ll not perform well enough; particularly when you are in a position of power. (Thank you for putting that into such succinct words Arachne.)
 
As Prime Minister she has demonstrated extraordinary honesty, empathy and integrity. It is the first time in my life that I have attached those attributes to a politician.
 
I hope she has set a new standard for New Zealand MPs and PMs. It would be about time. And we can all benefit from our politicians learning from her approach to leadership and decision-making: the new Labour leader and PM in particular.
 
Whoever that may be. We may find out on Sunday.
 
Incidentally, the media is behaving as though Jacinda died yesterday. We have had wall-to-wall tributes and speculations about the ‘real reason’ for her resignation, as well as about the new leadership.
 
Some of the claims and comments have been outrageous and come from people who evidently did not see the whole of Jacinda's press conference yesterday, including the Q&A after her announcement. It answers all the speculation and all the questions.

I wish her well. And I thank her for being our PM. I feel privileged to have lived here under her leadership.

I'm behind with reading journals and will try to catch up soon...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.