January visitors

Another light frost overnight and the makings of a fine sunny day. Unfortunately I had a rather nasty job to do - our 'waste pipe', which is buried underground down the steep slope of the bank towards the road and has four rodding chambers, had become blocked, with less than pleasant results. I won't go into details - just to say that after an hour or so I had made no progress and was forced to call the plumber in. Fortunately he was just leaving one job so promised to be here to have a look in 20 minutes, but arrived even sooner. He is such an obliging man and spent probably an hour investigating. He cleared the blockage but will be back first thing Monday morning with some  new pipes.

Later this afternoon I went for a walk round the roads as the sun was going down. From Duncraggan Road there's a good view to be seen between the house - my Blip today - but I thought I'd pop up to McCaig's  Tower before heading home. I met a neighbour in the car park and we had a long conversation while I watched the sun going down behind the trees!

Eventually I made it up to the Tower and spotted a nice view of the radio mast through one of the windows - my extra today. When I reached the viewing platform there was only a young couple there. We had a lovely conversation and they asked me to take pictures of them on one of their phones. They were from Hong Kong.

Quote of the Day:

'Once the travel bug bites there is no known antidote, and I know that I shall be happily infected until the end of my life' - Michael Palin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.