Not beachball weather ...

My day didn’t turn out quite the way I had hoped. Instead of catching up with a lot of outstanding jobs and thus having a feeling of satisfaction, I found myself repeatedly staring at a whirring beachball on my iMac when trying to use the Safari browser, and feeling anything but satisfaction! 

It became apparent that hundreds of tabs that I’ve opened in the past had been added to my "Favourite Tabs" set. I couldn’t delete them all because Safari kept crashing, hence the whirring beachballs. 

I spent a long time trying to solve the problem myself, but without success. I then shot off an emergency help request to my own personal IT expert (currently on holiday in the Lake District but willing to come to the aid of a close-to-tears mother). He suggested I take Safari off iCloud on all devices so the problem wouldn’t sync across devices, and then took over my Mac. The only solution he could find was to delete every single tab individually, which he left me to do at my leisure. This will be an incredibly long procedure, especially as most of the tabs have frozen and have to be ‘woken up’ in order to be deleted. Once I've done that on my desktop iMac, I will have to repeat the procedure on my MacBook laptop, iPhone and iPad before tentatively trying to sync them all again over iCloud. (Apologies to non-Mac readers if none of this makes sense.)

Ho hum, I'm afraid I may not manage to do much commenting on Blip for the next day or two. Seems I shall be playing beachball instead … 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.