Colourful

I came down in my dressing gown to pour my first tea of the morning, and was halted by a vivid sky framed by the large dining room window. I rushed to the balcony and shivered as my slippers crunched on the accumulated frost from four very cold nights and sub-zero days. I wondered what the Abstract Thursday theme was, and thought I would probably just share the sunrise instead. Later, when I discovered that the theme for the day was "colourful", I had a lot of fun cropping small sections of sky from my sunrise photos and playing with contrast, warmth and saturation. The results remind me of some of my daughter J's abstract paintings in wet watercolour. I struggled (again) to choose just one, so here are two of my favourites, along with an only marginally edited view of sunrise over the downs, from which the abstract extra was cropped.

It was a full day. I missed yoga, party because I was waiting (for a lot of the morning as it turned out) for a telephone appointment with J's physiotherapist and partly because the hammering and power tool noises from the builders in the adjacent room would not have been conducive to meditative posture work, let alone relaxation. The piles of boxes on the sitting room floor would also have made it difficult to lie down. I caught up with some admin jobs, organised as much as possible in preparation for Friday's London appointment, and after lunch went for a lovely walk over the hill in beautiful, golden light. I rushed back for a video appointment with J, with a first look with the communication and assistive technology team at a new switch she is to trial. 

Thank you Ingeborg for hosting Abstract Thursday, and for allowing slow and tardy people like me to post our photos late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.