Winter Farmers' Market

It was still quite cold when we got to the farmers' market which was going to be closing early today because of a 'wedding expo' at the venue. It was a sparse number of vendors with sparse offerings, but I thought this table was not only attractively arranged but is a clear example of citrus which thrives here in the winter.

The crepe lady wasn't there in her charming little trailer so I settled for an extremely decadent chocolate espresso cookie to go with my coffee. I bought some lettuce, dirt testifying to its freshness lodged in its leaves after the weeks of rain, and a handsome bunch of kale. Along with some polenta and taleggio this will somehow become our dinner. Looking at this picture, I see that I missed those two delicata squash. I would have bought them If I had noticed them...my favorite kind of squash.

Another vendor had three bunches of dried flowers left so I bought one of them to add to my dried hydrangeas and roses. It looks quite nice but is very fragile, dropping petals and leaves when touched. Hopefully it is out of the way enough to last through the winter months on the entry table.

Another chunk of the day was spent clearing the non-waterproof outdoor cupboard of rusty tools, moldy hats and gloves and a lot of mouse droppings, acorn shells and a chewed cleaning cloth. We inherited this piece of furniture with the house and I think its days are numbered but it will be returned to its place until we can find a suitable replacement. It's interesting. If one Googles 'garden bench' what turns up is fairly appropriate and just as attractive as the 'outdoor console tables' which can cost up to ten times more. 

John is tackling the pump house and the garage, both of which have also been invaded by mice. Ten years in the country has taught us that invasions of different kinds of rodents seem to come in waves, some of which are a result of fires driving them down from the hills, and we've never been without something wreaking havoc. The difference is that we're a bit more savvy about how to protect the things we really care about and not worrying overly much about the rest. As long as they stay out of the house....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.