Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Match Day

With my usual levels of punctuality and efficiency, today is the day I begin my New Year's resolution to start Blipping again!
I miss it! Writing my own Blips and reading other people's.
So here we go again.......

Today was the first visit of the year to Vicarage Road for me and Miss E. In all the matches she's seen there have been few goals and even fewer wins. Only two wins in fact. It's a miracle she still wants to come!
When tickets went on sale a few weeks ago I asked Miss E if she'd prefer January 14th or 21st. It made no difference we thought - both opposition teams were in the bottom three. Last week - January 14th - we won 2-0 with added last minute penalty excitement. I couldn't help thinking we should have got tickets for that day!
Rotherham (crappy, cheating, time-wasting, third bottom Rotherham) scored in the twentieth minute and we were a bit rubbish, but luckily it got a bit better in the second half and we equalised in the fifty-third minute. Whoop whoop!!
It all got a bit feisty with lots of near misses, punches, ridiculous fallings over, penalty shouts, cheating time-wasting, useless officials (or f*****g t***s who should get themselves to Specsavers as the two very angry vocal men near us kept bellowing at the tops of their voices. Miss E thought it was hilarious.
So another draw, sigh. I really want her to experience some wins and many, many more goals.
But we had a lovely day. Down on the train and straight to Krispy Kreme for Miss E's traditional pre-match donut. Then it was Primark, WHSmith, Boots and Fat Face. Nothing says match day like a new top, some lip gloss and a new shoulder bag!!
Then it was the walk up to the Stadium. I love joining the crowd, seeing all the yellow, black and red shirts, hats and scarves. Miss E is the fifth generation of our family to join them and walk up Vicarage Road.
And, as usual, I thought of all the times I walked up there with Dom.
He'd have thought it was particularly amusing when I got stuck in the turnstile with my new bag.
Miss E was mortified!
We were lucky with the train home, got to the station just in time for the quick train back and twenty minutes later we were zooming home with lovely Mr K who'd come to collect us. 
Then it was Chinese curry and chips and the Great Pottery Throw Down.
We know how to live!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.