Loch Fyne

A day of sufficient stress that once on site the camera remained firmly zipped in my jacket pocket. This was the day I was dreading. There were so many things out of my own control and almost living up to my negative expectations things went pear shaped early on.
We had a special blue tooth echo sounder hired in which links to the RTK GPS. On site fabrication of brackets to support this was taken on by the client. Twenty yards from the boat house and the afore mentioned bracket came to pieces. Thankfully no expensive kit was mounted at this stage and as it turned out our boat man was a dab hand at rigging up such tackle. (He should have been given the task in the first place). He returned a couple of hours later with some tubing and clamps. He also retrieved with a grappling iron the other kit which had sunk earlier, in a couple of metres of water though close to the shore.

We sailed tentatively down the loch to the survey area. Strange kit is always a worry and while I had checked it out as best I could it is difficult to give an echo sounder a "dry run". Anyway it all started working and and a decent set of data was collected.

I am hugely relieved that part of the job is done and as I say there would have been lots of intersting blip shots had I been able to relax a bit.

This is a view over Loch Fyne in front of the Ardrishaig Coop where we stopped to get food supplies this morning.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.