Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

New toy

On waking I discovered that my tablet had not charged overnight despite being plugged in, and investigation revealed that the micro USB port was clearly a bit dicey - wiggling the cable in the port produced intermittent charging.  It's a few years old, and had been showing its age in various ways - some apps were refusing to work because the Android system was out of date, and couldn't be updated.  So I decided to cut my losses and get a new one.

I managed to hold it, whilst browsing, so that it slowly charged, and checked the cost of a new one.  Decided that I like Samsung (tablet and 2 phones all Samsung), a bit of research showed me that the A series would be good enough for my needs, and I could get an A8 in a local Harvey Norman.  Ordered it click and collect, and by the time we'd had breakfast, I'd had a message that it was available.

So we popped in to Galway for that and a few supplies from our favoured veg shop.

It's quite a lot bigger than my previous tablet - probably just a tad bigger and heavier than is totally comfortable, and the "sleeping bag" I bought for the old one won't fit.  But I'm confident enough with the sewing machine these days that I'm sure I can make a new one.

I'd been able to very carefully put down my old tablet with the charging cable working, so by the time we got back it was charged up, and I was able to get them talking to each other so that most of my preferred apps were transferred from old to new.  Whilst they were talking to each other, I was browsing blip on my computer.

I'd been a bit behind with saving stuff from the old tablet to my computer, so there are rather a lot of photos to rescue - they're saved on the micro SD card within the tablet - would they be transferable?  Possibly, but I'm loth to risk it.  But it's going to take a while to move them, because of the dicey USB port.  Oh well, a job for tomorrow. 

This is published from my new tablet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.