CreativeCarol

By CreativeCarol

Through the Window

It is hard to see through the panes of stain glass windows, but it is lovely to look at the beauty of stained glass. While I was at band rehearsal this afternoon in our church sanctuary, I thought of the many years that I have had to look at these beautiful windows. I am blessed to still be apart of the same church family that I grew up in as a teenager. I was married here (my daughter was too), my children baptized, and I have served in many ministries here with music being the one that is closest to my heart.

As my eye followed the line of windows along the wall, the brilliant colors, just popped out at me. It was so beautiful to see that as the light changed during the course of the rehearsal, the colors changed as well; reds and yellows started to tone down and blues and greens became quite brilliant as the light faded in the late afternoon. The light radiating through the glass added life and beauty. It becomes transcendent and spiritual connections of the bible stories came alive in the window.

This photo is only a quarter of the total window. I chose to only photograph this to show the intimate small pane that shows the cross. There are twelve large panes of stained glass that each are divided in two with a pillar that goes from the floor up into the high ceiling. Looking at the windows as a whole, they each look like a pair of angel wings. Every side of the wings have one small pane representing different stories of the bible. I regretfully do not know the artist or artists that designed and made these windows. But I am grateful for their contribution to our church. It was a very special moment for me today to stop and look at the windows. I call Wednesdays, my whirlwind days, so I do not usually take time to look through the window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.