Disaster

It has been dreich weather all day - unrelenting heavy rain and eventually strong winds.  We stayed indoors all day, except when I went to my Pilates class.  I took the car as I would have got drenched trying to get to and from the bus.

On the 6 o’clock news it showed people being evacuated from their homes in West Auckland and there’s just be a news flash that a person has been found dead in the flood waters.  Very sad.  There are slips, flooding in the CBD and the airport, and the Elton John Concert was cancelled.  A state of emergency has been declared in Auckland.  Thank goodness we live on a hill.  We’re getting a whole summer’s worth of rain in one day. It is bad!!  

With no chance of taking an interesting photo today, I’ve taken a photo through a window looking up the driveway towards the street and three photos of our “view” at various times during the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.