Living my dream

By Mima

Long clouds

A beautiful sunny day. For a change Bean and I walked up the hill, from where the views were marvellous.

I have started to prune the blackcurrant bushes: a job that is always done as soon as the harvest finishes. It takes some thought, to cut out crossing branches, to open up the centre of the bushes and trim the tallest growth. I completed two of the bushes and chucked the resulting pile of prunings onto the grass outside the fruit cage so that birds could feast on the overripe currants still clinging to the branches. Bean had a go too of course.

I harvested a heap of fruit and veg: raspberries, scarlet runner beans, courgettes, pink fir apple potatoes, carrots, cabbages, celery, peas and tomatoes.

And as the day heated up I retired into the truck where there has been a beautiful cooling breeze, and made coleslaw, potato salad, courgette salad, summer veg soup and a new pot of mayonnaise.

I also spent some time researching digital refrigerator thermostats. The most straightforward way to create a cheese cave is to is to buy one such thermostat, plug a regular fridge into it, put the remote temperature probe into the fridge, set the thermostat, and - apparently - Bob’s your uncle.

A good day.


I’m very behind with reading Blips….hopefully I’ll catch up in a day or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.