Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

New Arrival

(29/1/23)

Day 3

Anything I might have wanted to do last night in preparation for today would have to be put on hold as I needed to sleep! An early start then to get ready for the arrival of longstanding friend and fellow-blipper Eileen, aka rachelwhynot!

I had written a few weeks ago, when trying to collect Catherine at the airport, that our days to collect visitors have ended because of the way Terminal 3 now functions. I asked Eileen to get a taxi to a hotel across the road from the airport where we would collect her, and that's what she did. We were home by 9:30 for breakfast and a very brief rest before heading out to meet with Jessica for lunch. Poor G had to go to school. Blast, who had made her way to the Burj Khalifa viewing platforms met us at the Mall.

From there, we went to Business Bay to take pictures of Dubai's Zaha Hadid building - the Opus by Omniyat. No time to linger anywhere on our tight schedule, we made it to Skafos in time for happy hour drinks and watched the sky change and lights come on. It was fun to get three fit ladies into their super bowl!! (My extra).

If that wasn't enough, it was back to Dubai Mall for blast. We walked through Fashion Avenue and dined by the Fountain. Wafi Gourmet managed to find us a table with a view. You might think that was enough for one day, but no - we drove all the way to the other side of town to the Last Exit Khawaneej! If Eileen was feeling sorry for herself by this stage, she didn't say.

Coming home, I drove into the Museum of the Future parking area on the way back to blast's hotel. G & her ventured much further to get some very cool shots. I stayed close to the car as I wasn't legally parked! I think we were home by 11:30. All very tired and ready for bed, I'm sure, except I still had to make one up for Eileen and another for myself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.