Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Three Blippers

(29/1/23)

Our intrepid friend was up and ready to go in the morning, despite her body clock being four hours behind! I'm so impressed!

We met up with blast at Dubai Frame, a popular tourist site located in Zabeel Park, opposite the main highway. I can see it from my bedroom window! It opened in 2018, but I've only been once, and G hasn't been at all, so we rectified that today! We all absolutely loved the experience and the views, and I think between us, we took several hundred pictures!

On to Mohammed Bin Rashid Library from there. It is free to visit, but you have to book a time slot, so we couldn't linger at the Frame for as long as we felt like. Whilst at the library, I had a message from work for an urgent invoice that they wanted to be coded, so I left my friends and came home to do that. I wanted it out of the way so it didn't spoil the rest of the day.

Back to pick up the girls, and we headed to Biker's Cafe for lunch. We were all hungry and ready for their meal. Glad to say it was a big hit!

We then headed to Global Village, a firm favourite of G & me, and Eileen loves it too. It's our first visit this season, and many things have changed, including the location of some well-established pavilions. I, er, am struggling to walk with my right knee giving me a lot of pain, so we were happy to head back to the car to move on to something special that I had totally forgotten Dubai had i.e. a Dale Chihuly glass sculpture installed in the Atlantis Hotel on the Palm. (The GV Carousel ride will have to wait until another visit).

There was talk in the car of how we're going to get into the hotel, as it is not one where anyone can walk in. In the end, honesty proved to be the best policy, with me telling the security man I had a visitor who would love to see the glass feature! In fact, they were so accommodating they even let me park in the VIP area. Wow.

As we were already on the Palm, it didn't make sense not to drive further along the Crescent to see our Sunday morning view in the night! Dinner at City Walk (yes, another attraction) before finally dropping blast off and getting home. G has the first of three early starts in the week starting in a few hours!

Another perspective here and here. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.