The birds in the tree

The huge poplar at the bottom of the orchard is a favourite place for flocks of birds to roost in the daytime. Jackdaws often gather there before flying home together to their noisy nest site in the avenue; but even from a distance these did not look jackdaw shaped and on closer examination proved to be pigeons, neatly seated in tiers and all facing the same way, as if watching a movie. 

It's been a quiet day. J slept very badly, because of pain and spasm in her hands, so we started slowly. I had planned a walk, but by the time I was ready I knew I didn't have enough energy to enjoy it, and decided a nap would do me more good. I generally dislike daytime naps, which feel like an extravagant waste of time and leave me dozy and reluctant to re-emerge, but today it was the right decision - an hour's sleep has helped me through the rest of the day and restored my temper. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.