The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Archie (Monday 30th January 2023)

Diary blip. Last Wednesday night I took Archie in to the garage for its full service and MOT, already booked in to be done first thing the next morning, as I had plans for using it that afternoon. In fact it passed its MOT and was ready for collection by midday, but unfortunately I was sitting by the phone waiting in vain to be contacted, and whenever I rang the 'phone just kept ringing, so by the time I walked over to collect it late in the afternoon there was no point going anywhere but home.

I set off on Friday to run several errands and so it wasn't until I was leaving Melksham that I needed the help of the sat-nav, a 2019 Tom Tom Go Premium X. I reached into the glove compartment to find that it wasn't there. A frantic search ensued and found a couple of other things missing including one fell boot.

I managed without it and even went on to visit C. and Loki in Trowbridge that day (but got no pictures). I thought the worst as I couldn't imagine why the mechanic had even needed to access the cubby hole, and called at the garage first thing today.

They were confident the missing items were in the car somewhere and asked me to come back in Archie so they could have a good look with a torch. It turned out that the whole tray had been taken out to allow access to the oil pollen filter they replaced, and the sat-nav had been moved and replaced in the dark recesses of the cubby hole which my thorough search had failed to locate.

I was very happy to get it back as it had lifetime maps, traffic, live routes and so forth, whereas none of Tom Tom's latest models do, and all my saved and recently visited places.

Of the shoe there is no trace despite their concerted efforts to find it, but I am at least confident that it is a result of probably my own innocent mistake or theirs. My trip on Sunday to Bowerhill for yesterday's Blip was also in part to check for the shoe, as this was where I had last changed out of the pair following a canal walk. I was confident I had put both in the car but if I hadn't there was a good chance the odd one would have been kicked under a hedge or something.

L.
Monday 30.1.2023 (1546 hr)

Blip #3802 (#3552 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #002
Blips/Extras In 2023 #012/265 + #003/100 Extras
Day #4691 (1148 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2943 (#2783 + 160 in archived blips)

Taken with Panasonic/Leica DMC-LX100 M4/3 compact with close-up +1 filter

Diary Blip series
Old Forge series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Bob Dylan - Dirt Road Blues (Version 1) (recorded 12 January 1997, Criteria Studios, Miami FL)
The latest in Bob Dylan's Bootleg series, Fragments, explores session outtakes and live performances around the album Time Out Of Mind from 1996 and 1997. Mojo magazine compiled a cover-mount CD of 13 tracks from various volumes in the Bootleg series and included two tracks from the new Volume 17, Fragments, of which this is one. My subscription copy got lost in the post so today I had to go to the shops and managed to get the very last copy they had at the newsagents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.