Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Long Day

I messaged my dad this morning to see if mum had come home and he said he hadn’t heard anything since he’d got through to A&E last night at 10pm and been told they were waiting for mum’s X-ray results. As she hasn’t got her bloody phone there’s no way to get in touch with her. Ridiculous. She could be lying dead in the morgue and we wouldn’t know.
I messaged Miss K who works in A&E and asked if she could find out where mum was. Supserstar that she is, she got back almost immediately to say that mum hasn’t broken anything but was in a lot of pain. She told me where she was - still in A&E!
I told my dad so he knew where to find her.
I had a horrible customer at work today - that never happens!
He said he wanted these two prints but didn’t want to pay the asking price. I said - nicely - that the seller doesn’t discount.
Doesn’t discount?! he bellowed. So she’d rather not sell them??????
Well, they’re reasonably priced to start with.
So you’ll let me walk out?
Yep!
Well, if we pay that price will you throw in the vase?
No. Because she doesn’t discount.
So I’ll just walk out and she’ll have nothing.
Yeah if you could you absolute fucking twat.
Obviously I didn’t say that!!!
It was a bit of an impasse so I started to offer to call the seller to see if there was anything she could do.
He spoke over me and asked couldn’t I ring her? (I had the phone in my hand!)
When they’d been in before they’d had a discount so I was just being obstructive.
Don’t take that tone with me, I said.
Which was a mistake because his wife then went mad and started going on about his lack of tone and my very definite tone.
Oh my God.
Needless to say they left without buying them.
Sigh!!
I’ve never had a situation like that in the shop. People are normally so nice.
I felt awful but luckily there was another seller in who’d seen and heard the whole thing and and said I should not worry, he was an odious bully.
I took my mind off him by meeting Mrs L at the garden centre for cheesy fish. Delish!
My dad went over to see mum tonight. He said it’s pretty grim where she is and she’s scared and in a lot of pain. It’s horrible to think of.
Hopefully she’ll be home soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.