Strawhouse

By strawhouse

John Radcliffe

I told my dad I’d take over from him in the shop this afternoon so he could go over to see mum. She’s finally been admitted to a ward.
He took her phone over last night so finally I was able to get in touch. Such a relief.
We will be having words about the habit she has of never taking her phone anywhere, and it never being charged if she does remember it. She prides herself on not being glued to it like the rest of us but there is a middle ground!!!
Even though it would only be a flying visit I decided to go over to the JR and see her before getting back to the shop. Parking can be a nightmare over there - it took almost an hour in November for Miss L’s gastro checkup- so I got Mr K to come with me so he could just drop me off and then try and park. I was worried that I’d spend all the time parking and only have a few minutes with mum!
I called into their house on the way and picked up some essentials - book, reading glasses, slippers etc and then we were on our way.
Ironically, it being a Saturday there were loads of spaces!
Mr K came up to the ward entrance with me then headed out for a McDonald's in case mum didn’t want to see anyone else.
She looked so much better than I was expecting - I thought her face would be much more bashed up and swollen but thankfully it wasn’t too bad at all.
Lots of pain but nothing broken which is a miracle really.
And she’s on the seventh floor so there’s a nice view of Oxford!
Mr K came back with tea from Costa - Earl Grey for mum which was gratefully received after days not having any.
Then it was time to get back and take over from my dad so he could get to the hospital.
Because I’d left in a hurry I hadn’t taken my book, lunch or milk for my tea. A long afternoon stretched ahead!! But lovely Mr K came back down with it all for me on his way to Milton Keynes with Miss L to get the paint for her room.
And when he picked me up he bought tulips. I love him x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.