A Frustrating Day

 We were out early this morning on the way to Spike's Meadow and after a dull cold day yesterday, today was bright, clear and cold. I put a picture in extras to show John and Spike walking up the trail, the bright green grass and the rocks poised above us on the left side. It's a nice way to start the day, except for the roadworks and detour which have turned a short drive into a much longer one. I think they are preparing the lot for an addition to the retirement home, but I wish they didn't have to close one lane of a two lane road for an indeterminate amount of time...
There was also a lot of heavy equipment clearing out the creek which was in full spate during the three weeks of rain, causing another delay.

We've been playing tag team with the car and each other all day today. I went to see Kathy by myself  because John had to wait for the garage door guy to come and figure out why neither of our two garage doors works. Kathy lives in rural Windsor, a good half hour away, so I had to hustle home to get the car back to John so he could basically retrace the route I had just taken to go to the dermatologist in Windsor. 

When I got home, there were two phone messages from the garage door guy saying he had come by and nobody was home. I checked and they still weren't working, so I called him. It turns out he did come and decided that we need a new motor on the side we park the car on and something else on the other side and someone will be back on Wednesday to do that. I asked him when and he didn't have the time at his fingertips, but said he told John. The calendar wasn't on the wall where it always hangs He was very polite but I could almost hear him thinking 'don't these people ever talk to each other?' I just let him think that because explaining any of it seemed counterproductive. Besides, he probably wasn't interested in knowing that John took the calendar to the garage and then couldn't remember what happened to it....

Since his rash/exzema/whatever isn't clearing up, the doctor wants him to have another shot of Dupixent, a biologic exzema and asthma medication. For some reason he has to wait two weeks to go back for the shot. From what I can tell, he will need to have regular injections which are possibly self administered. I cannot see John doing that so I hope it isn't true. It's probably too much to hope that he would actually ask questions himself....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.