No flooding!

We left the Holiday Inn at the Zoo this morning and drove back into Edinburgh to breakfast with our daughters in Daughter Two's flat. Not a great opportunity for photography unfortunately as the roads were busy in the morning rush hour, with road works everywhere. 
 
I was rather amused by the sign in our bathroom which for some reason appeared to be directed to visitors who spoke the only other language than English! It must have been a serious request as I can't imagine the Holiday Inn making a joke out of it! I took a picture in case I failed to find anything else and eventually decided to use it rather than use the same scene of Loch Lubnaig where we often stop for a picnic and I have blipped before.
 
We set off home at 10am in rather wet and miserable weather - I had arranged to call in to see a Scottish Rhododendron Society member en route. He was moving house and had a number of plants that he wanted to find new homes for before he left. The only two that I liked the sound of were tree ferns, Dicksonia squarrosa, a rather tender species from North Island New Zealand, which can stand only a few degrees of frost. I grew it at Arduaine where it was occasionally damaged. These plants were quite small, probably only around 30cms tall and had been frosted, sprouting again from the base. When I checked with an online nursery selling them I found that they were charging £90 for a 26cm plant, so I’m quite happy with my invalids and look forward to resurrecting them!
 
I’ll need to do a back-Blip for yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.