WE'RE GOING TO WEMBERLEY!

I was going to stay in until it was time to go to the footie but I got a text saying that there was a parcel to collect from the Tesco in the village. Decided to go and get it this afternoon.  Just before I left the house I got a message from the seller to say she had 2 parcels to post and got the labels mixed up.  So the parcel she sent me didn't contain what I had ordered.  She asked if I would still collect it - and then send it on to the correct person.  She will pay the postage.  So  Ive brought the parcel home and I will send it to its correct destination tomorrow.  Hopefully whoever gets my parcel will do the same.

When I got home from Tesco I did some chores and had an early meal.  Left the house around 6pm to catch the bus to Newcastle .Walked up to the football ground and got there around 7.30pm.  It was almost full by that time. Supporters had been encouraged to get there early to create a good atmosphere for the team.

Our two new signings were introduced to the crowd....Anthony Gordon who was previously at Everton and Harrison Ashby who has come from West Ham. They are both 21 years old.  They got a great reception.  Hopefully we will see them in the team soon. I have added an Extra collage which includes our two new players, a view of the ground, the sprinklers before kick off and the two mascots Monty and Maggie Magpie. The old chap beside them sits near me.  He comes with different carers.  The lady who was with him today wanted to take his photo with the mascots to mark the special occasion.  He doesn't usually go to evening games but he didn't want to miss this one.

Kick off was 8pm. Newcastle were playing Southampton in the second leg of the semi final of the Carabao Cup and they had a 1 -0 lead from the first leg. Newcastle got off to a great start and scored a goal after only 5 mins.  Then they scored again after 21 mins.  Things were looking good.  However Southampton snatched a goal on the 29th minute.  Newcastle didn't play as well in the second half but Southampton didn't score again thankfully.  Newcastle player Bruno Guimarães was sent off on the 82nd minute so Newcastle were down to 10 men.... and the ref added on 7 mins of extra time.  All the Newcastle fans in the crowd were willing the ref to blow the final whistle.  And when he did the place went wild.  We were through to the final at Wembley.  We find out on Wednesday evening whether we play Manchester United or Nottingham Forrest - it will probably be Man Utd

After the final whistle most fans,including me, waited around till the team did a lap of the pitch.  We were all singing .................

Tell me Ma, me Ma
I won't be home for tea
We're going to Wemberley
Tell me Ma, me Ma.


I finally tore myself away as I had a bus to catch. Got to the stop with a bit of time to spare.  It was raining but that didn't dampen the spirits of the fans waiting for buses or walking round town. Wherever you were you could here fans singing and chanting. I got home around 11pm. What a night!.

Steps today - 13,374

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.