lemonzest

By lemonzest

Lilac

I spent much of the day with AJ starting on our onions. We began by harrowing to loosen the soil and removed whatever ryegrass we feasibly could. Then we rotovated a few times. I got busy with the rake while A put the onion sets into three long rows along a string. We were serenaded by the insane song of the larks, rarely visible, hovering high over the field. A few gulls circled around for a while and a harrier periodically patrolled the neighbouring fields, once or twice coming quite close.

The onion sets are rather small, so the amount of work still to do seems like a bit much. We don't have any machines to help us with this unfortunately and there is a desperate shortage of willing hands. I cheer myself up thinking that last year it was even worse. Maybe there will be more of a worthwhile crop this year. We were cooled by a few tropical showers as we got on with it and I managed to remove a fair bit of ryegrass. We will continue tomorrow.

I slipped into the garden with the camera while D took a few dogs for a constitutional. Nothing much looked any good. The lilac coming into blossom was the best I could manage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.