Down memory lane to Lahore (1981)

It's been a good day.  I've only been a spectator, vis a vis today's various public sector workers' strikes; but I hope against hope that they'll have the right kind of impact. However long it takes.
I spent the morning on Greek homework; this week's task was to draft an advert in Greek. Needless to say, this featured very basic language on my part, of the order of 'buy this now!', and similar exclamations.
In the afternoon I picked Eben up for his swimming lesson, fitting in a brief chat with Ruth in the process. They'd had a companionable day together, as Eben's school was shut because of the teachers' one day strike.
The I came home in time for the weekly Zoom Greek lesson at 6. It was a cheery session, using a Greek version of the Red Riding Hood fairy tale as a framework for practising various bits of grammar. Our tutor's good at finding lighthearted ways into it all.  As a group, we're two years into this together now.  To my relief, we're all getting better at understanding but we're all still pretty clumsy at speaking. We've learned not to mind about being clumsy though, and we just keep going, sharing a lot of laughs along the way.
This evening Richard had a band practice at home, and I've had some time to dig out the follow-up images to yesterday's Pakistani buses. I've always enjoyed photgraphing people at work.. I'm struck now, as I was then, by the tough conditions: the bare feet braced against sharp lengths of metal; the lack of any protection from dust, noise or the danger of falls...
The best of my images from Pakistan went, as prints, to a primary school in Rotherham. Its very forward-looking head teacher set up a small exhibition in the school with artefacts and images from Pakistani families both in Rotherham and back in Pakistan. The idea was to broaden the kids' perspectives on life and 'culture', both here and there. Racism was very entrenched in Rotherham in the 1980s, and times were hard for South Asian families.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.