Another Friday in the cafe passed uneventfully and I am now home by the fire with D and Jess.

In my afternoon break, I walked past the Oxfam shop. It was shut, maybe because of a shortage of volunteers? but I stopped to look in the windows and to read this nice quote. I had no idea who Margaret Fuller might be, and was surprised, when I got home and researched her name, that I had never heard of her. 

Margaret Fuller lived in the USA and later in Italy in the 19th century and was a writer and journalist, By the time she was thirty, she was considered the best-read person in New England and she became the first woman who was allowed use of the Harvard College Library. She was also a staunch women’s rights activist. In Italy, Fuller worked as a war correspondent when the country was in the throes of revolution. She married an Italian man, had a child, and in 1850 they decided to return to the United States but their ship sank and the family drowned. A full account of her life and writings can be found here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.