Upper Linney

I haven't been kicked out (yet) but I have been walking the streets again.

Ludlow again. 

I always enjoyed exploring the historical architecture of Wolverhampton, but it was gritty, industrial. Victorian mainly. Industrial revolution.

Ludlow is more my taste. Norman, medieval, up to the18th and 19th century. There is so much to see, and exploring these wonderful alleyways and hidden courtyards fascinates me.

The main image is looking uphill along one of the narrowest streets called Linney, and Upper Linney. It leads to the site of the Linney Gate. One of the seven gates that gave access to the medieval walled town when it was established as centre of trade and a place of military importance. With a huge castle.

The collage in extra is a collection of door knockers and the water fountain in Castle Square. Mainly in good order, but not always.

I am eager to continue exploring and learning about the history here. For some reason it calls to me. Maybe in a previous life I lived here. I was probably a blind beggar or a crook-back serf. Or something. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.