These are just a few of the charity bags that have been shoved through my letterbox over the last nine years, i.e. since I moved back from Spain. I don't know why it's still allowed. People should take responsibility for getting rid of things they no longer need, just take them to a charity shop instead of putting them into a plastic bag which will end up in landfill.

The bag on top advocates Action for Children, which is a blatant contradiction since it will be our children and grandchildren who will be living with our inability to make much headway against plastic. We're still selling bottles of water for goodness sake... but that's a whole separate moan.

I'm taking these to Tesco, who will recycle what they can. I know I'm preaching to the converted here, but it makes me cross!

Extra: I've just spent a good 20 mins watching a heron in next door's garden. It picked something out of the pond and then appeared to be washing whatever it was, dipping it into the water and shaking it again and again. I seem to remember frogs and toads excrete a foul tasting substance from their skin?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.