A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Not so silly

Not found anything for Silly Saturday today but did spend a bit of time in the garden this morning. 

A benign sort of day, not cold, not windy and not wet, as good as it gets at the moment. I went out initially to take a look at this Hamamelis. We’ve only had it a couple of years but I’m sure it had bigger flowers last year. There are lots of flowers but they are half the size of the yellow one alongside, each flower no more than half an inch - that's pretty silly! Interestingly I didn’t see any red ones at Harlow Carr which is where we got it and it’s predecessor and I’m sure I bought it because I’d seen one flowering there. There were yellow ones and quite a number of orange ones too but no red. If it doesn’t thrive I don’t think I’ll get another. 

I decided to stay out and do a bit of tidying and even a bit of (very) late bulb planting. Not sure you can see any difference but I feel better for having done it.

Alex came down to help with a job with the washer, reconnecting the waste pipe which had become blocked, he stayed for a cuppa and a bacon sandwich. He’s gone home to watch the rugby - Six Nations.  I’m doing the same, it’s one tournament that I enjoy. I am doing my Brontë jigsaw at the same time though. At the moment Ireland seem to be doing a pretty good job.

Chris has put a beef stew in the slow cooker for dinner, it smells wonderful 

Hope you are enjoying your Saturday 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.