Gealagan-làir

I was back over in Aberfeldy this morning where I went to the monthly Gaelic Cafe at the Birks Cinema. There was a bilingual talk on "Tìr nan Sgeul's nan Gaisgeach" le Ruaridh MacIleathain (Land of Stories and Heroes by Roddy Maclean (who is a well know Gaelic writer and broadcaster)  followed by Cearcaill Còmhraidh (conversation circle).  I really enjoyed both the talk and the discussion afterwards. 

T had driven me over as there weren't any suitable buses and I had a few minutes to spare before it started and so I went to have a look at the park at the Lower Birks, which I hadn't visited before.  I spotted my first snowdrops and so have taken the opportunity to make my contribution to annual blip snowdrop collection.

One the Gaelic terms for snowdrops is Gealagan-làir which translates as little white ones of the ground, which I rather like. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.