A time for everything

By turnx3

At the theatre

Friday
Most of the morning was spent getting Roger’s hearing checked, and set up for hearing aids. His hearing loss is only low to moderate, and more so in one ear, and it’s the female voice range that he struggles with - very convenient! I do find myself having to repeat myself a lot, and he struggles sometimes on the phone with our eldest daughter Jen, as she is quite softly spoken. In general with men, he’s OK.
I stayed home in the afternoon doing some jobs, but in the evening we were out at Cincinnati Shakespeare Company. They don’t just do Shakespeare, however, and tonight’s production was The Importance of being Frank, a modern sequel to Oscar Wilde’s classic, The Importance of being Earnest. Jen and Jason, had bought us vouchers for two productions as a Christmas present, and this was our first one. Personally, I wouldn’t have chosen it for myself, but Roger wanted to see it. It was a fun light hearted evening, but overall I wasn’t that impressed. I love the bright artwork they have along the corridors, so I made a collage of the set, some of the artwork, and even in the restrooms, they have a quote from Macbeth along the drain to the trough like wash basins “ A little water clears us of this deed”!
We bumped into some friends we’d been quite close to years ago, when we first arrived in the U.S. - they too are British, and Andy was similarly an engineer at G.E, as Roger was - they arrived over here about 9 months after we did. We started a family at around the same time , so we continued to get together with our children, in a small mother and toddler group, but then we moved to France, and ended up staying there 10 years, and when we came back we moved to a different area, and although Andy and Roger would sometimes see each other at work, we didn’t really stay in touch - we each had three children by this time, and were kept busy with children’s activities, and for us with church activities too. I’m not sure I would have recognized Karen, she’s dyed her hair, and wears it in a very different style, but as soon as she started talking, I knew it was her! We had a bit of a catch up before the performance and during the intermission, and parted at the end saying we must get together again.
Step count: 4,348

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.