A time for everything

By turnx3

Chasing frozen waterfalls!

Saturday
I had some photos come up on my Facebook feed this morning taken at Englewood Metro Park just north of Dayton, featuring various beautiful icy shots, including several waterfalls. We had another sunny day forecast, with the temperature going above freezing, so we decided to head out for a day trip. Initially I thought we had been before, but when I searched for it in my Blip photos, I couldn’t find any, so we came to the conclusion, we had considered it once, but never actually gone. The trail we took led us through forest, past several waterfalls, and then a lovely segment beside the partially frozen Stillwater River - see extra collage. Since we were up in the area, we decided to check out the waterfall at Charleston Falls Preserve, about 20 minutes away. These are the falls shown in my main Blip. Whilst we were there, we heard a couple of crashes, as chunks of ice broke off from the frozen falls. The temperatures are going to rise still further over the next couple of days, and we’re supposed to have rain on Tuesday and Thursday, so by next weekend, I expect they will be flowing more or less normally! They weren’t quite as impressive as when we saw them at the end of January last year, but still fascinating to see and watch!
Step count: 14,012

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.