Allotment day

The first proper allotment day of the year, but not before I had done some proper kitchen cleaning. The floor and cooker were pretty bad, so that was done while The Archers Omnibus was on. I made one more sheet of 'paper' then put that stuff away for another time. The 4 sheets I made are slowly drying, but with the temperature low and very little sun, it may take a few days. I don't think they are going to be very solid, or very easy to write on, but as with all my mad craft ideas, it was a fun experiment and I may have another go in the summer.

After coffee, Henry and I went down the allotment where Henry dug over a whole bed for me, then helped build a new 'secure' area for Bessie. I say secure but I suspect she will escape. I left a small amount of food for her, but am pretty sure the rats will move with her. We were just over an hour, and went home for lunch. Then Jon joined me for the afternoon- I cycled, first chance to use my 'new' bike trailer. Thanks to friends Lucy and Andy whose 2 children have grown a little too heavy for the trailer, they let me buy it off them at a very reasonable cost. Excitedly I collected then carried 2 bags of horse manure down in it, and a huge pile of rubbish back. Jon did a lot of tidying and I dug out weeds from another bed. I let him have a rest and read his book, while I continued jumping from one job to another. There is still lots to do, but it is a lot tidier now. Jon left me to carry on until it was getting dark, while he went back to cook dinner.

As always, the weekend has flown and there are still so many jobs to do....but I'm sitting down now for some tv.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.