Coffee by the sea

Jon and I drove to Holt to try and get a new tyre for my car, but they couldn't fit me in until 1.30, so we booked it in, the drove back to Sheringham to meet Mollie and Henry for coffee. We walked through the high street, which was full of people, and down to the sea front to the Whelk Coppers. We were hoping that being more out of the way there would be space for us, and although busy, they did have a nice round table inside. I had tea and coconut and raspberry tray bake, Mollie had coffee and carrot cake, and the men had toasted teacakes with their coffees. Everyone agreed it is one of the best. We love to treat ourselves on a Saturday morning - thanks Jon. I hope we never get to a point where we can't afford to do it.

Back home by 12 and had an hour to do some jobs before I went out with my car. Got a big pile of ironing down and the ironing board out. Then filled the bird feeders and raked up some leaves by the stream. After a bit of lunch I took the car to be sorted and on the way home dropped in on a friend in Matlaske where I enjoyed a cup of tea and quick catch up. Home by 4 and did the ironing while listening to the afternoon play. It was good - a drama about the very beginning of BBC radio drama! It lasted just the time it took to do the ironing.

Then I started on my paper - not started exactly as I had chopped up and boiled my iris leaves earlier. So I blended them in my food blender, then rinsed them as much as I could to get the green out. Eventually ended up with a fibrous pulp which I mixed with water in the tray and used my deckle to make a few sheets. I'm now waiting for them to dry to see how they compare to paper made from paper pulp!

Jon cooked tea. He is getting more mobility, and is also booked in for a hot bath tonight. I think that will help, if he fits in the bath. We are now watching a film....or rather, Jon is. It isn't so much my kind of thing so I'm going to have another go at teaching myself to crochet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.