A collage of old pics.

Another day when I haven’t thought about my blip photo until it was too late, or rather too dark. So browsing some old pictures which Manda converted from slides, I selected these three that I love for different reasons.

The one of me with one of my ‘faces’ on, I remember. A plate of half eaten egg and the rind of a slice of bacon on my plate. My cheeks also full of egg I suspect. I didn’t like egg, and it still isn’t a favourite of mine, although I do love my chickens! When did we stop getting bacon with rind on it?? The lovely familiar interior of our family caravan. Mum and dad bought it brand new in 1970, and it did so many family holidays, only eventually being taken away about 4 or 5 years ago, as it began to fall apart. Money well spent. I still have the old 1970 portable toilet on my allotment for collecting water. It was just a large bucket after all.

The top photo just made me laugh. It must have been taken by mum, on holiday somewhere, but what made me laugh was the composition! Half of the photo is Dad, Manda and I, the other half dominated by the backs of this old couple sitting on a bench!!! I just thought it was funny. I don’t think mum will mind me saying she isn’t the best photographer! But nice to have a few with dad in.

The last one - apart from me having another of those faces, it’s the socks, trousers colour combinations. This looks like a windy Cornwall holiday. Very early 1970s.

I love looking at old photos. Well, all photos.

After work Jon fiddled with the heating pipes in the loft, and has switched the heating back on for a trial. We are keeping our fingers crossed. Signs are good, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t going to change - says me - ever the optimist (not). Think the worse and you won’t be disappointed.

Loving my kitchen now I don’t have my desk in it. I worked in the summerhouse today - first time since well before Christmas. The conservatory is an absolute tip, but we will be tackling it in due course. For now, relaxing on the new sofa with more family history research to do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.