A bit of sun

At lunchtime Jon and I walked up to the allotment to feed Bessie. (Photo of Jon so that you can all see he is OK- albeit looking a bit grumpy at being the photo subject!) It was a lovely sunny day, and we needed a walk. It was another bad night for us, but Jon came downstairs at 2am to sleep upright on the sofa, as he said laying flat is particularly painful. I just don't sleep very well anyway, but I am always hopeful that I'm going to sleep all night. Just one night a week would make a huge difference to me.

Work was interesting with lots more changes announced, so it is going to be very different going forward. Still don't know when I am going to be able to get my own team....I fear it is going to be a long while, and with the changes announced there won't be anything I can do about it. But I'm trying to be positive, in that at least I am on the new salary, even if I am still just doing my old job.

After work I chopped put some leaves on to boil - I have a new book about how to make paper, one one idea is to use plants rather than recycled paper. It makes sense and I wanted to have a go. I chopped up a pile of iris leaves, and they have soaked for 24 hours, then boiled for 90 minutes. I then have to blend them, and wash them to make a pulp. Hope to do that tomorrow. At the moment it looks very green. I have dried some petals from flowers Jenny sent me for my birthday, which I hope to add to the paper once it gets to that stage.

Roll on summer, I am determined to nail this paper making this year :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.