Murmuration

Today was mostly as lazy as I had planned, with reading, mail sorting, sport watching and feet soaking!

This afternoon it was decided I'd do some proper cooking for the first time in a while though, which meant two trips to the Co-op and a bit of standing in the kitchen, also two lots of pot-washing!

Recently we have noticed that, around the time I start work a very large starling murmuration gathers at the far end of the High Street where the chippy is. It was decided that while the sausage casseroles were cooking we would go down and photograph it.

 Maybe we should have left it for another night as we had to return earlier than we'd have like to avoid burning the food. I could have watched the seething, undulating mass of birds swirling and swishing around the colourful sky for as long as it lasted. They look so exuberant. For a couple of minutes a pigeon joined in. It was probably accidental and likely quite alarming for the interloper, but maybe it could not resist joining in the dance!

My photos do not do the scene anything like justice and my battery died before we left too. This was one of the last shots I took! Here's a link to a video recorded by Brian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.