An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Oops I did it again...

Backblip

A lovely day when we were mainly getting organised for Ele and Kenny coming for dinner. 

We were having lunch when a delivery arrived.  New yarn for a crochet project.  I have a cupboard bursting at the seams with yarn and about five outstanding projects, but I saw this yarn on a crochet group I am on and couldn't resist it.  It's DK, which is thinner than I've crocheted with (I like aran weight and chunky) but the crochet blanket I saw made with this yarn was stunning and I couldn't resist.  I broke my self-ban on buying yarn during an insomnia bout but it was on special offer and it was almost 6am when I ordered it a few days ago, so close to getting up time ;-))

Ele and Kenny arrived at 7pm and it was lovely to catch up with them and have a normal Saturday night.  Ele  brought my birthday pressie - a lovely garden tub and wild flower seeds, a handbag and scarf from Spain, and a Clinique mascara, eyeliner and eye cream set.  Very generous and all fab.

Tucked in the bottom of the gift bag were two envelopes, one for D and me and one for Alan.  I opened ours and it was a Save the Date notice for Andrew and Nikki's wedding - 17th July 2024 :-))

The wedding will take place on the banks of Loch Lomond.  Ele and Kenny are renting a lodge beside the venue and we think we might do the same.  Exciting!  

Dinner was straightforward.  Balmoral chicken with peppercorn sauce made by our butcher, baby potatoes and carrots.  Got in touch with our inner children for dessert - warm crepes with a selection of fillings, Nutella, vanilla ice cream, strawberries, banana, maple syrup, mango, cream.  I went for Nutella and vanilla ice cream.  Delicious!  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.