Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A misty sunrise

Checking the weather forecast last night, I saw that this morning there was going to be mist followed by sunshine, and rather cold, so I guessed there would be a good sunrise too. So I was up early this morning to get to Bushy Park by 6.45am to see the blue hour (see extra) followed by the sunrise. And what a sunrise it was! The sky turned such a bright red it was amazing to see. I have hardly edited these photos as the colours were so intense. I actually prefer the softer pinkish type of sunrises but for the record I thought I would show how fiery the sky was. 

It was cold at -1C, and although I had gloves on they were only light ones so that  I could work my camera while wearing them - within half an hour my hands became so cold and painful that I struggled to press the shutter button, and then struggled to get the camera off the tripod. I only lasted half an hour there and then went home. I should have worn my new thicker photography gloves that I have just bought. I am beginning to worry how my hands will cope when I go to Norway as we will be well within the Arctic Circle and it will be so cold.

I got home in time for breakfast and then walked Xena - by now it was a beautiful sunny day as the mist had lifted. I also did some grocery shopping, and went to the post office to post Inca's laptop charger to her which she forgot here yesterday. I did some online shopping for a birthday present, it does take some time going through various websites trying to find what you want.

Tonight I have camera club and we have another PDI competition which I am looking forward to, I really enjoy hearing the judges comments and critiques. I have to go make supper before I go so I will check on journals tomorrow.

I must record just how brilliant the final episode of Happy Valley was last night. I don't want to give too much away for those who have not seen it yet, but I am in awe of the incredible writing of Sally Wainwright who wrote the series - she almost had all of us feeling sorry for Tommy Lee Royce in that final episode, and the skilled and emotional acting of both leads was a joy to watch. If you don't know what I am talking about, do start watching the series, it is pure gold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.