Flossmo

By Flossmo

The other half

It was very foggy first thing this morning and cold, too. Our plan was a visit to Cliveden as I had a free National Trust ticket that needed to be used before the end of February and, given Mr Flossmo's impending surgery, there weren't many days left to make use of it. On the down side I was worried about making my knee pain worse and the gloom and the cold didn't make it any more attractive. On the up side the forecast assured us that the sun was due to come out by lunchtime and I do hate to see a freebie go to waste. So it was, late morning, we set off, well wrapped with camera in pocket. 

The forecast was spot on. The fog was starting to clear just as we arrived and by early afternoon the sky was clear blue. It was chilly but not unbearably so. We started with a light lunch in the conservatory cafe and then gawped through the windows at the Cliveden House (now a hotel) dining room. So much bling everywhere, old and new. Even the fag ends were of expensive cigars! How the other half live - both then and now.  

We walked along the terrace and admired the views (see extra). We then decided to do the walk from the house down to the River Thames and back. It wasn't ideal terrain for my knee but I took it gently and, I'm happy to say, my knee survived. On route there were a couple of red kites circling above our heads. I got my camera out, more as a gesture of good will than with a real expectation of a photograph. It's not a great photograph (see extra) but I was still thrilled to take it. I even think he was looking at the camera!

After that more tea was needed and a quick mooch around the second hand bookshop before we set off for home. A grand day out.    
 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.